Student Government Association Assembly Meeting Minutes April 29, 2009

Executive Members Present: Student Body President Spialek, Vice President Fettner

Assembly Members Present: Senator Flaherty, Senator Carnahan, Senator Hochauser, Senator McGinty, Senator Thornton, Senator Pankow, Senator Ruedig, Senator Weston, Senator McMahon, Senator Monahan, Senator Owens, Senator Larson, Senator Yancey

Ex-Officios Present: ALAS, ARH, Pride, Student Trustee Geno Bagnuolo

- I. Roll Call
- II. Executive Officer Report
 - A. President Spialek
 - 1. President Spialek expresses his thoughts about the Administration's vision for next school year.
 - 2. I have begun working with Senator Colaric for the STOP program and have begun meeting with administrators to bring the program into action
 - B. Vice President Fettner
 - 1. I have been working on filling external committees; if anyone is interested please let me know.
 - C. Executive Director Krug
 - 1. For office hours, please clock in, unless in office use a time card.
- III. Advisory Report
- IV. Ex-Officio Reports
 - A. ARH- Amy Vito
 - 1. Thank you to Senator Thornton for attending out General Assembly meeting 2 weeks ago to see our elections.
 - 2. Thank you to Senators McMahon, Monahan, Larson, and Owens for attending our last G.A. meeting this year the G.A. was excited to meet all of you.
 - 3. We have successfully elected 6 out of our 7 executive positions. We are still looking for the Student Unity Coordinator. If you know anyone who may be interested, please contact me (uhamvito@exchange.ilstu.edu).
 - 4. We have a ratified Constitution and Bylaws after a successful General Assembly vote. We're hoping to make them live on our website as soon as we can.
 - 5. We are currently working with facilities to help portray information about the Southside Chiller Plant, University St. Parking garage, and Rec Center construction. Students have been

- voicing concerns about sidewalk closures and changes. We are hoping to bridge the gap.
- 6. We held our first move-in meeting with the 10 Curb Bird Coordinators and over sixty Curb Birds. We voted on our Fall 2009 Move-In Theme "We Keep Moving and Moving and Moving" (off the Energizer Bunny!)
- 7. Thanks for a great year, there will be a new ARH rep next year. Thanks for a fun time and hope to work with you soon!

B. Pride

1. Pride recently celebrated their "Pass the 'Gay'vel" and is looking forward to a great year.

II. Information Items

- A. Senator Appointments- President Spialek nominated two people, Senator Colaric and Senator Kodman for Underrepresented Senator positions.
- B. Cabinet members- President Spialek has nominated Matt Olson for Secretary of Information and Technology and Doug Cahanin for Secretary of Student Fees.
 - 1. President Spialek moves to make the Senator and Cabinet appointments to action item A and B; Senator Flaherty seconds.
- C. Resolution authorizing the SGA Consulting group to visit the Illinois State University Student Government Association, as opposed to visiting Washington D.C.
- D. Senator Carnahan and Senator Hochauser are nominated for President of the Assembly
 - 1. Senator Thornton moves to make this action item C; Senator Owens seconds.
- E. Senator Hochauser, Senator Monahan, and Senator Ruedig (declines) are nominated for Vice President of the Assembly
 - i. Student Trustee Bagnuolo moves to make this action item D; Senator Thornton seconds.
- F. Senator McMahon and Senator Ruedig (declines) are nominated for Secretary of the Assembly
 - 1. Senator Flaherty moves to make this action item E; Senator McGinty seconds.

III. Action Items

- A. Katie Colaric and Doug Kodman were voted unanimously as Underrepresented Senators.
- B. Matt Olson and Doug Cahanin were voted unanimously as Secretary of Information and Technology and Secretary of Student Fees.
- C. President of the Assembly Election
 - 1. Nominees: Senator Carnahan and Senator Hochauser
 - 2. Nominees speak:
 - 3. Debate:
 - 4. Voting Results: Senator Carnahan is now the President of the Assembly
- D. Vice President of the Assembly Election

- 1. Nominees: Senator Hochauser, Senator Monahan, and Senator Ruedig (Declined)
- 2. Nominees speak:
- 3. Debate:
- 4. Voting Results: Senator Hochauser is now the Vice President of the Assembly
- E. Secretary of the Assembly Election
 - 1. Nominees: Senator McMahon and Senator Ruedig (Declined)
 - 2. Nominee speaks:
 - 3. Debate:
 - 4. Voting Results: Senator McMahon is now the Secretary of the Assembly
- IV. Passing of the Gavel
- V. Adjournment
- 1. Student Trustee Bagnuolo moves to adjourn; Senator Flaherty seconds.